For the greater part of my twenties, the “cost of living” is a term I hadn’t entirely been able to

wrap my head around. I’ve always been frugal in many ways, but for bigger purchases (real estate and cars, if necessary), I’ve avoided interest in terms because I only had experience at arithmetic transactions under $500 for the most part. And those transactions were paid in full. Thus I was never a borrower, and never viewed larger purchases in terms of borrowing either. So there was a delay as to determining if and when I’d ever want a house or car, and how I would pay for it. But most unexpectedly, is that in retrospect I had put off buying a home because the median prices were much costlier than the lower end of what’s available. And they aren’t homes that are advertised as often. But they are available, and there are many under $100k. WIth my previous salaries, as well as current salaries, median house prices have always appeared to be like lengthy prison sentences-15 or 30 year mortgages. This concept is so foreign to me that it would be a major purchase regardless of most any higher income. What I was looking for, and with the assistance of living with family in a rent-free household, I eventually, after about nine years in my twenties, started to browse homes that could be purchased in their entirety in less than five years. I think this is an ideal home price for me, because ever since the economic “expansion” of the 1980s, the gap between the median price of homes advertised and the average income makes home ownership a very lengthy mortgage term. And freedom is something I value, thus any affordable home is much more appealing than one that is pricey and contigent on a lot of unpredictable factors in income, climate incidents, and personal relations.

Leave a Reply

