I don’t have much knowledge about religion. I have studied some major religions, but I don’t have an extensive understanding. Nonetheless, my background in one and encounters with others tends to define how I reflect on my boundaries. Some are more anecdote than dogma, and some others are more humorous than anecdote.

One example of an anecdote is having attended a relatives’s Presbyterian-Catholic wedding. Having attended Catholic churches, I have always been accustomed to wooden pews. This wedding was held in a Presbyterian church, and the pews were cushioned along with some vinyl-like sleeve. This was, in the larger picture of things, a minor detail, yet, I began to think that certain religious beliefs could be tied to this choice of furnishing. The cushions were more comfortable, but I immediately thought, “will I have to pay for this later?” “Is there a catch?” The only thing uncomfortable about it was that I had to labor over these thoughts. But in some ways, the cushions were more uncomfortable only because I thought acutely in terms of a gradation from and to the wooden pew. I never found wooden pews uncomfortable, yet this new found awareness led me to think that religion could be like a debt- enjoy a comfort now, and pay for it later. There is no reason to think all things free must be paid back, but it remains an interesting way of looking at things.

Religions have never been about living in the moment, but if religions had made great schisms before on such minor details, I wouldn’t be surprised if these details were found in larger contrasting themes. Perhaps a comfort is a type of karma that can be shaped into debt and credit. Maybe some ideologies are based on  spatial interactions and others based on time. Debt depends on time, whereas cash depends on single transactions in a small or virtual space.

Growing up, I was never a focused Catholic- I even kept-an open skepticism towards certain ideas- some all too repeated by other popular voices. I also grew to become skeptical of other skeptical viewpoints, becoming more subjective than objective.

 

Leave a Reply

